Can I be a minimalist?

I don’t care for things. My bed is a squeaky couch and I only wear about 1/4 of the clothes I own. I recently broke my only mirror and found satisfaction in my makeshift fan. Yet, I’m constantly suggested that I should find a bigger place. I even had the nerve to search for a 3- piece sofa set. It was anxiety inducing.

I’m conflicted about my lifestyle. I take pride in the maintenance of my I-phone 6; buying new cases, cleaning the screen and such, yet I have a flat screen television in my room I don’t even use. Why do I have these things? I believe I should be practical and productive with everything I own. And with that thought, I wondered if I could be a minimalist.

But exactly what is minimalism? I feel like it’s one of those things where it’s lived not spoken. A couple google searches led me to a few websites that all had one idea in common- neglecting possessions. Families and couples that embraced the idea of only owning things used everyday. Conditioning satisfaction and happiness from relationships- I dig that, I loved it! Why not?

At first,  that sounded pretty achievable- but I struggled throwing out knic-knacs. Little toys and old name tags that I will probably never use again, fought with my emotions.I was shocked with my relationship to things- They held significant memories. What is a girl to do when she can’t let go of a lanyard from camp that tugs at the heart strings? Can I truly do this?

Not now.

 

Leave a Reply

